HeadlinesRecord Attendance at Presentation Dinner

Record Attendance at Presentation Dinner

A record 96 players and guests attended Bawburgh Golf Club (Glenn Lodge) to celebrate another good season for Great Melton Cricket Club.  With the First Team's promotion to Alliance Division 2 confirmed, Chairman Steve Phoenix congratulated Olly Harris and his team but pointed out that the mere fact that Melton is able to field 4 teams every Saturday and 16 teams in all is success enough.  He also highlighted the Under 11s success in winning 3 trophies and winning all 18 games and announced that the new nets which the club had been trying to finance for nearly 5 years would be installed this Autumn following a £15,000 grant from the ECB.

Richard Waddell who took 26 wickets, a record since the 9-over restriction on bowlers was introduced, received the First Team Player of the Year Shield from Vice-President Grenville Ireland while the other stand-out player was batsman Sam Mann whose 473 runs at an average of 47 for both A & 1st Teams won him the A Team Player of the Year trophy and the Aldous Special Award which he shared with Joey Greenslade for a new club record partnership of 249.  The B, C and Sunday Awards went to Eusha Fawad, Clive Rennie and Ben Mann respectively but, none of them were able to attend the dinner.  The Ladies/Girls Player of the Year was Rachael Hustler while the Young (U17) Player award went to Kai Wilkinson-Loines who topped 500 runs for the season.

Nick Mackenzie was voted Clubman of the Year for his work on the tour, Beer Festival and Six-A-Side while Matt and Maxine Rushton received the Aldous Volunteer of the Year Shield from another Vice President, Malcolm Scarlett, for their work with the U11s, the B Team and their innovative way of using new technology, particularly Play-Cricket,  to improve team selection and scoring.  Marcus Mawby, an excellent role model who has coached both the U11s and the girls as well as helping out at matches and other events, won the Barnard Cup awarded to the Young Volunteer of the Year.

Leo deSalis, who is now the club's all-time leading wicket-taker with 700 victims, received a tankard for having made 500 appearances while Steve Clarke (300) and Ryan Hayward (200) also received appearance awards.

For the first time since the 40th Anniversary in 2014 the Chairman produced one of his famous ‘poems' highlighting some of the more humorous incidents during the season before the evening concluded with dancing to the Reflex Roadshow.

Leave a Reply


We are based at Melton Park in the grounds of Melton Hall

Address – Hall Road, Great Melton, NR9 3BJ

Two Pitches, Two Lane Modern Net,
Main Pavillion with Male, Female and Umpire Changing Rooms, Toilets, Bar, Kitchen, Parking.

Roll-On Covers, Wooden Sightscreens, Electronic Scoreboard, Fully Enclosed Pitch

We welcome visitors, families and dogs.

There is ample parking, refreshments, snacks, gorgeous views and fantastic cricket available all season.